Archive for April, 2011


2011-2012 Guru Gobind Singh Fellowship Competition

April 25, 2011

Nominations for the Guru Gobind Singh Fellowship are now being accepted.  The fellowship is an award of $30,000 given to a current UC student who meet the following eligibility criteria:

1) graduated from Indian or Pakistani university in a specific geographical region of those countries (it includes Delhi–please contact me for the map)
2) would like to return after getting a graduate degree, and
3) who hasn’t undertaken graduate study at another university in the United States at any point.

Students already holding a master’s degree and who have already reached the dissertation stage will be given preference, but these are not absolute qualifications. Students at any stage of graduate study may be nominated, provided that the student’s department will commit to providing a Nonresident Tuition Fellowship, if applicable, for the Singh Fellow, as needed, for the du­ration of the Fellow’s program (assuming continued sat­isfactory aca­demic progress) com­mencing with the year following the Singh award year.

To nominate a student, please send up to three letters of reference (one from the student’s faculty spon­sor), university transcripts, and any other documents that may serve to sup­port the candidacy to  Please indicate the current status of the student, advanced to candidacy or not, and planned completion date.  In addition, please include a statement of how the student proposes to use her/his graduate education in their home country by May 18.


Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology

April 6, 2011

The International Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology is awarded annually to one young scientist for the most outstanding neurobiological research based on methods of molecular and cell biology conducted by him/her during the past three years.

Prize for Neurobiology honors young scientists for their outstanding contributions to neurobiological research based on methods of molecular and cell biology. The winner and finalists are selected by a committee of independent scientists, chaired by Science‘s Senior Editor, Dr. Peter Stern.

To be eligible, you must be 35 years of age or younger. If you’re selected as this year’s winner, you will receive US$25,000, have your work published in Science, and be invited to visit Eppendorf in Hamburg, Germany. Past winners and finalists have come from Japan, China, Europe, and the USA making this a truly International prize. Yes, it can happen to you!

Prize money: US$ 25,000
Next application deadline: June 15, 2011

For more information, please visit:


Erma Byrd Scholarship Program

April 6, 2011

The U.S. Office of Postsecondary Education is soliciting applications for the Erma Byrd Scholarship Program, which funds students pursuing industrial health and safety studies.  Scholarships of up to $10,000 are available for domestic graduate students and $2,500-5,000 for domestic undergraduate students; scholarships are tied to a service obligation requiring graduates to work in a position related to their studies for at least one year.  Approximately $200,000 is available for 41 awards; applications are due April 25.

More information is available at: